Also stolen from Africa

The 42 principles of MA’AT existed 2,000 years earlier than the bible.

Ten Commandments List

  1. You shall have no other gods before Me.
  2. You shall make no idols.
  3. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
  4. Keep the Sabbath day holy.
  5. Honor your father and your mother.
  6. You shall not murder.
  7. You shall not commit adultery.
  8. You shall not steal.
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
  10. You shall not covet.

If you slightly reword some of the 42 Principles of MA’AT, you can see that they’re very similar to the 10 Commandments.

  1. Thou shalt not kill, nor bid anyone kill.
  2. Thou shalt not commit adultery or rape.
  3. Thou shalt not steal nor take that which does not belong to you.
  4. Thou shalt not bear false witness, nor support false allegations.
  5. Thou shalt not lie, nor speak falsely to the hurt of another.
  6. Thou shalt not take God’s name in vain.
  7. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s goods.
  8. Thou shalt remember and observe the appointed holy days.

According to Biblical accounts, Moses was an Egyptian, meaning that he grew up to worship Egyptian Gods and Goddesses. It’s likely that he was familiar with Maat and the 42 Principles.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s